Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to footer

Special Meeting – February 10, 2015

A special meeting of the Town Board of the Town of Homer held on Tuesday, February 10, 2015, in the board room of the Town Hall building was called to order by Supervisor Frederick J. Forbes, Sr., at 9:00 a.m.


                Frederick J. Forbes, Sr., Supervisor

                Barry E. Warren, Councilman

                Dan A. Weddle, Councilman

                Brian D. Young, Councilman

                Patrick M. Snyder, Attorney for the Town

                Anita W. Jebbett, Town Clerk


                Kevin M. Williams, Councilman

Supervisor Forbes gave the background into the search for a new Town Assessor following the retirement of former assessor David Briggs.  Four municipalities formerly covered by Briggs had worked together to form a cooperative agreement to share an assessor.  The Town of Homer will be providing the office space, current clerk Frances Armstrong will maintain her current 8 hours a week with additional office hours to be provided by a new employee.  The details of the cooperative agreement will need to be worked out.

On motion by Councilman Weddle, seconded by Councilman Young and carried unanimously:  RESOLVED: 

WHEREAS, the Sole Appointed Assessor for the Town of Homer, retired this December 31, 2014, AND

WHEREAS, the Town Board of the Town of Homer wishes to appoint Mr. Randy H. Deal, I.A.O., C.C.D.

to fill out the remaining term of the previous Assessor,

 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Randy H. Deal, 3224 County Road 6, Alpine, NY 14805, be and hereby is appointed to the position of Sole Assessor for the Town of Homer, for a term beginning February 23, 2015 and ending September 30, 2019, and be it further

RESOLVED, that the salary of said Sole Assessor for the year 2015 shall be $85,900 and shared through an agreement established by the Towns of Homer, Taylor, Virgil, and the City of Cortland.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:25 p.m.

                                                                                                                                Anita W. Jebbett                                                                                                                Town Clerk